a little update; a list

Grey Days

Grey days

I’m not settled. And that’s okay. I feel bad and out of sorts and scattered all over the place, but I’m giving myself grace to take longer than two months to settle into a new life, new job, new country.

What’s going on with me, people ask. How’s life in Korea? I say inane, good-sounding things because the honest answer is weird.

“I don’t know.”

I don’t know how life is here. I haven’t lived much of it yet. All I’ve done is get a little used to my new job, visited a few places, gotten better at reading Korean, been terribly sick several times, discover that kids can be completely irritating…

Most of my comments about life here are complaints, which I refuse to entertain or share. That’s why I don’t write much. I have a lot of worries and complaints, and if I share that negativity it gains force.

So, a list of what is good;

  • School lunches; seriously, having one really good, healthy meal made for me every day is wonderful. I’m not cooking much and eating out is hard alone, but at least I get one good meal a day.
  • All my internet and phone set up; for the first month, it was hard to feel really a part of life here. When I lived in Taiwan, I didn’t have a smart phone, so I walked around blind. But when I’m out here, I can check bus lines and information and it’s amazing.
  • Walking places; this one is kind of a mixed blessing. I don’t like having to walk when I just need eggs or milk or something, but it’s nice to walk around and not feel unsafe, and it forces me to get exercise. A bonus.
  • English speaking co-workers; had I gone the traditional route and ended up in a Korean public school, I would have most likely been the only foreigner, and who knows how well I could have communicated with my peers. At my school, I’m one of many foreigners, and even the Korean teachers speak really good English, so I can communicate easily and get close to them. Plus, they hold barbecues for us at school. Meat win.
  • My American friend; she’s the one who introduced me to the job, and she lives in my building. She also occasionally invites me to do things. Often enough I feel like I have a life, rarely enough that my introvert self isn’t overwhelmed.

I heard somewhere that when you don’t know what to write, write a list. As I’m so fond of them, I thought it was a good idea.

Hopefully I’ll start writing again. It’s cathartic, but difficult to know what to share and what not to.

otter.

 

 

3 thoughts on “a little update; a list

  1. I’d say don’t be afraid to share the stuff that is challenging, too. It’s natural, normal and people, oddly enough, relate to the tales of hardship and struggle and “meh” more than “look how lovely my life is”. Facebook can actually have adverse effects when you are scrolling through “I’m SO happy” posts, again and again – studies have shown (!!!) + I observe my own reaction to that particular social media and so I limit my time on it, big time.

    You’ve talked about what you like, so why not balance it out when what you don’t like. I don’t think you’d turn into a negative Nancy, if that’s what you’re afraid of. My unsolicited advice is “hit the gym” – get exercise! You’ll feel better and email me – anytime, love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think God is trying to tell me something. You’re literally the fifth person to suggest gym or exercise. *sigh* We’ll see. 😉 But I’m grateful for your encouragement! I do want to be honest, but a lot of my complaints tend towards whiny-ness, so I need some distance from them to make them constructive. However, I won’t shy away from it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

